RSS

Mini Beef Wellingtons – Gordon Ramsay would be proud

18 Jan
individual beef wellington

Individual Beef Wellington

One of my most memorable meals included making individual Beef Wellingtons for a Table For Six dinner at my house. Beef Wellington is intimidating to make. I actually tested the recipe on my sister (with less expensive sirloin instead of fillet…sorry, sis); we made two different versions to see which we liked best.

The whole experience was made slightly less scary after watching one of the many online videos of Gordon Ramsay going though the process.

Whilst researching and shopping I decided on baby bellas for the mushrooms. After a spirited discussion with two stores clerks and two customers at the deli at Fry’s on the merits/differences between Parma ham and prosciutto, followed by online verification after my test run, it turns out prosciutto *is* the most well-known variety of Parma ham. So, when you’re shopping cut to the chase and just ask for prosciutto.

As for the mustard, Beef Wellington (and Gordon Ramsay) are English so I’m sure an English mustard would have been more appropriate. However, I lived in New Orleans and love all things Cajun so I used Zatarans Creole Mustard. Take that!

With that said, here is my adaptation of a recipe I found for Mini Wellingtons.

Ingredients:

  • 6 6 oz one inch thick beef tenderloin (I had mine custom cut at Fry’s)
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 pound mushrooms
  • 6 thin slices of prosciutto (not sliced  too thin or they’ll fall apart)
  • Spicy mustard
  • Two packages frozen puff pastry
  • 2 egg yolks, beaten

I basically followed the directions set out by Gordon Ramsey and Elise on SimpleRecipes.com. Rather than re-type them all here you should check out the link above. Cooking times will need to be adjusted.

I did garnish my mini Wellingtons with some of the extra dough using a small cookie cutter. The picture attached is actually one of the six I made for dinner that night fresh out of the oven.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 18, 2011 in Dinner Party, Holiday

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Mini Beef Wellingtons – Gordon Ramsay would be proud

Leave a Reply

 
