RSS

Spinach Feta Quiche – the recipe that started it all

03 Mar

Spinach & Feta Quiche

Every family has their traditions. In my family we all contribute a dish at family gatherings and at the holidays. Traditionally, once you’re pegged for a dish its kind of expected that you will bring the same dish year in and year out. Somehow I got pegged for quiche. Be it Easter, Mother’s Day, Father’s Day or Christmas brunch, I’m in charge of the quiche.

Being a recipe geek and loving variety, I’ve searched high and low for interesting quiche recipes. Over the years I’ve experimented on my family with at least 10-20 different recipes some of which turned out good and some edible but not good enough to cook again. In an attempt at creating healthier dishes, my hunt has been particularly focused on crustless quiches.

I was euphoric when I found this recipe. I can’t tell you the countless number of times I went back and re-searched the internet for it. The “bones” of this quiche (grains, milk, eggs, egg beaters and cheese) can be used to make a variety of different versions. I consider this recipe to the one that launched a thousand quiches…OK maybe not a thousand, but at least four or five. I’ve adjusted it over the years but this the recipe that started it all!

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbls olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1/4 Tsp ground pepper (I prefer white pepper)
  • 1 10 ounce package frozen chopped spinach – thawed
  • 2 Tbsp flour
  • 1 cup low fat milk
  • 2 cups cooked brown rice
  • 1 cup crumbled feta cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup egg beaters
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  • Heat olive oil in a large frying pan
  • On medium heat, sauté onion, garlic and spices, cooking until onions are slightly browned
  • Add spinach and cook until most of the water is removed
  • Add flour and stir until combined
  • Slowly add milk; Cook to a simmer, stirring constantly, until thickened slightly (usually 2-3 minutes)
  • Remove pan from heat and blend in rice, eggs and feta cheese
  • Pour mixture into 9″ x 9″ Square Baker
  • Sprinkle parmesan cheese on top
  • Bake at 400 degrees for about 35-40 minutes or until set. Broil 2 minutes until top is golden brown

Serves six

Nutritional information – values per serving are approximate:

Calories 237.0 Total Fat 9.5 g  Cholesterol 53.4 mg  Sodium 420.1 mg  Potassium 413.2 mg  Total Carbohydrate 23.5 g   Protein 13.9 g

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Spinach Feta Quiche – the recipe that started it all

Leave a comment