RSS

Shrimp Fettuccine

30 Apr

Creamy shrimp pasta with a Southern flair

Don’t tell anyone, but I occasionally cook with Velveeta. Being somewhat of a food purist and all, processed cheese is not in my typical repertoire. However, there are some recipes for which only Velveeta will do.

Case in point, my brother’s Cajun-themed birthday bash eons ago. It was right after I moved to Arizona from New Orleans. My brother and his friends used to visit me when I lived in the Big Easy. I only lived about 6 miles from the French Quarter. Wouldn’t you visit every chance you got if your cool older sister had a house with plenty of couch/floor space to crash!!??

Anyway, with some advance planning I brought back pouches of Pat O’Brien’s hurricane mix. The ginormous Igloo container of deadly punch was going to need some big food to soak it up. My brother whipped up a double batch of my jambalaya. This was no time for any low fat or healthy food so I contributed a faux (and more hearty) version of Shrimp Monica. As I mentioned in the Shrimp Monica post, I doubled this recipe and the frat boys gobbled it all up.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound fettuccine
  • 1/4 cup margarine
  • 1 large onion
  • 2 green bell peppers
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 1/2 cups skim milk
  • 1/2 pound light pasteurized processed cheese spread, cut into cubes
  • 2 pounds boiled shrimp
  • 2 tablespoons chopped parsley
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne

Cook fettuccine according to directions on package omitting salt and oil. Drain and set aside. In large pot, melt margarine and sauté vegetables until tender. Add flour, stirring until mixed. Gradually add milk, stirring until smooth. Add cheese, stirring until melted. Add seafood and remaining seasoning. Toss with pasta. Transfer into casserole dish and bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.

Serves ten

Nutritional information – values per serving are approximate:

Calories 404.5 Total Fat 11.8 g  Cholesterol 201.5 mg Sodium 607.4 mg Potassium 400.4 mg Total Carbohydrate 44.3 g Protein 30.4 g

Photo Credit: hermitsmoores on Flickr. CC Licensed. A much better picture than I could ever take!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 30, 2011 in Yankee in a Southern Kitchen

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
