RSS

Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake

12 Jul

Dry ingredients, recipe and bottle of homemade coffee liquere in Pampered Chef Batter Bowl

Yesterday I was writing a post, which has yet to be published, about my inspiration for growing mint. It all started when I was planning a dinner party last winter. My goal was a rich chocolate cake and when I found this recipe, I decided that mint-infused whipped cream would be an awesome addition. On a side note, my family totally disagreed with this and voted for plain, unadulterated whipped cream which is why none of them was invited to the dinner (kidding!)

Presentation is everything, so to garnish the cake I purchased raspberries and fresh mint (both of which are enormously expensive in December.) Hence my decision to grow mint. I have a very happy plant on my window sill as we speak.

Fast forward to today when I needed to come up with a creative donation for a bottle auction of my local women’s group. With visions of chocolate cake and mint dancing in my head I decided to create the “basket” pictured in this post. I included the recipe (spelled out below), the dry ingredients and a pretty bottle of my home brewed coffee liqeure in a Pampered Chef Batter Bowl.

The cake was easy to make and totally delicious. As previously mentioned, I served it with mint infused whipped cream (see below). One of my guests brought a bottle of port; the combination of port and rich chocolate cake was somewhat addictive.

Ingredients

  • 1 (18.25 ounce) package dark chocolate cake mix
  • 1 (3.9 ounce) package instant chocolate pudding mix
  • 1 (16 ounce) container sour cream
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup coffee flavored liqeure
  • 2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour a 10 inch Bundt pan.
  2. In a large bowl, combine cake mix, pudding mix, sour cream, eggs, oil and coffee liqueur. Beat until ingredients are well blended. Fold in chocolate chips. Batter will be thick. Spoon into prepared pan.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 1 hour, or until cake springs back when lightly tapped. Cool 10 minutes in pan, then turn out and cool completely on wire rack.

Mint Infused Whipped Cream

  • one pint of heavy whipping cream
  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon of mint extract
  • Drop or 2 vanilla

Transfer all ingredients to a bowl. Use an electric mixer with beaters or immersion blender to whip the mint until it stiffens up. Cover and keep cold until ready to serve. Use within 2 or 3 days.

Serves 12

Nutritional information: not provided because I’m pretty sure we don’t really want to know

Source: Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake on www.allrecipes.com

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 12, 2011 in Adult beverages, Desserts, Holiday

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake

  1. Brenda Gowey

    July 12, 2011 at 4:27 pm

    Do you need a Tupperware consultant? I found one who is just as passionate about her product line as we are about Pampered Chef! Her name is Diane Peveto, ph# 480-917-6521 or 858-837-0079.

    I love petite diced tomatoes too! The only success I’ve had with growing tomatoes in the desert is with cherry or grape tomatoes. The others don’t get very big & by the time I pay the water bill, they are about $15.00 a pound!

    Love your writing, Kathryn!

     

Leave a Reply

 
