RSS

Blondies aka Blonde Brownies

14 Jul

To paraphrase the more famous Blondie, "One way or another! I'm gonna eat'cha! Gonna eat'cha, eat'cha, eat'cha..."

I didn’t set out this week thinking I was going to have a dessert theme. Then I posted about the chocolate cake I made last December and all of sudden sweets have been invading my thoughts. I don’t really have much of a sweet tooth but there are a few desserts that I absolutely adore. My sister-in-law’s sugar cookies come to mind. As the single girl in the family with admittedly the most freezer space, my outside freezer has been the repository for the results of the annual holiday cookie-fest. Let me tell you that freezing cookies is not a deterrent. My SIL’s cookies are soft and puffy. So, if I answer their siren’s song, I just pull them out of the freezer and eat them on my way back into the house.

But I digress. I was introduced to one of the desserts that would haunt my thoughts and many an internet search when I was on the food committee for my Church’s Habitat for Humanity build years ago. That meant coordinating food volunteers and in some cases, picking up food and delivering it to the build site. One lady (who I think about nearly every time I drive by her neighborhood) donated a platter of what I was told were blond brownies. I was madly in love.

Eager to recreate this recipe I tried a few different versions of blonde brownies. At a friend’s suggestion, I even made Tollhouse cookies without the chocolate chips. It didn’t matter, the results didn’t pan out. I literally spent years poking around the internet searching for a recipe. If I could remember exactly where the cookie lady lived I would have knocked on her door to ask.

And then, earlier this year, I accidentally stumbled on the answer. The brownies in question are actually called blondies. BLONDIES! I made my first batch and it was love all over again. Moist and chewy, the butter and brown sugar give them an almost butterscotch taste. Recognizing danger when I see it, I will limit my baking to holidays or special occasions because I swear I could eat the whole batch…probably even frozen!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup of butter, melted
  • 1 cup of tightly packed dark brown sugar
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon of baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 cup of all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup of chopped walnuts
Directions:
  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Lightly butter and flour an 8X8 pan. Whisk together the melted butter and sugar in a bowl.
  2. Add the egg and vanilla extract and whisk.
  3. Add the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt, mix it all together. Add the butterscotch chips or other mix-ins.
  4. Pour into the pan and spread evenly. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool. Cut into squares and serve.

Makes 9 bars

Nutritional information – values per serving are approximate:

Calories 300.2 Total Fat 16.0 g Cholesterol 127.0 mg Sodium 120.6 mg Potassium 159.8 mg Total Carbohydrate 43.8 g Protein 5.6 g

Source: Blondies

Photo credit: smulligannn on Flickr. CC Licensed. A much better picture than I could ever take!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 14, 2011 in Desserts, Holiday

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Blondies aka Blonde Brownies

Leave a Reply

 
