RSS

Weight Loss Wars aka The Bust and Butt Challenge

09 Oct

I haven’t posted in a while. August in Phoenix was just too damn hot to cook. I was cranky and didn’t have much of an appetite much less any groceries in the house. One would think that not eating would mean I would whittle away to nothing but sadly, that is not the case. There are numerous articles about how your body cannibalizes muscle in the absence of food. Muscle, as it turns out, burns more calories (even at rest) than fat. So less muscle means you don’t burn as many calories. This means you gain weight even if you’re eating the same amount of food, or less. Sigh!

I realized about a month ago that I was going to have to take drastic measures. Not eating/eating crap, drinking wine and not working out were taking a toll. I’m usually very date oriented so I figured I would wait until after my birthday.

The benefits of setting a future date to start are many:

  1. It would give me time to mentally gear up.
  2. The weather would hopefully have broken. I realize weather is not a great excuse, but its hard to get motivated when its over 100.
  3. Who wants to diet around their birthday? My Libra birthday party conga line starts September 24th. I’ve got a friend with a birthday almost daily through October 7th. That’s a lot of celebrating to do.
  4. In food blogger world, October is “unprocessed month,” where bloggers from across the country pledge to clean their diets of processed foods. This can range from hard core to baby steps, as in eliminating [insert vice of choice here]. I’m already fairly unprocessed so I’m sticking with avoiding all things that come in a box or a can.

All of which brings me to the Weight Loss Wars. Bemoaning the fact that I couldn’t motivate myself to get moving (exercise does build muscle, after all) one of my friends suggested a small wager. Well, that was ALL that I needed to get motivated. That and the fact that the liver-paralyzing birthday week was over. People laughingly suggest a birthday month. I’m getting too old for that; a week is about all I can handle. Seriously, by the time I was done celebrating, my body was practically shrieking for healthy eating, water and exercise.

So, here goes. The 10 week weight loss challenge. My goals are to eat healthy, incorporate as many seasonal and unprocessed foods as possible and stick to around 1500 calories a day. And, finally, EXERCISE. I hope to work out at least 5 times a week. I nicknamed this the Bust and Butt Challenge because those are my two problems areas. Tame them and two thirds of the clothes in my closet will fit again.

You’re welcome to join me!

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
