RSS

Southwest Food Fiesta – Cheap Eats

27 Oct

Can you say Olé...it's a Southwest Food Fiesta!

Single girl here has overdone it on the food again. Mental not to self, no green chili pork unless you’re having a party. I just can’t eat it fast enough (because it makes so much and I’m single).

Last time I cooked pork shoulder in the crock pot, I emailed a gaggle of girls and invited them over for an impromptu dinner.

This time I made the pork thinking I would freeze some of it but its more fun to feed people so I’m taking my fiesta and accompanying sides to my sister’s house. My brother in law is contributing home made salsa. Between the two households we’re going to have a pretty awesome feast going on.

So, if you need a nice cheap meal to feed a crowd, consider a Southwest Food Fiesta. The good news is that this whole dinner pulls together for about $10 to $12 depending on the price of pork and how much you buy. A bag of pinto beans is cheap. Rice; cheap too.

Just make sure you plan ahead…each recipe may make a lot but both the pork and the beans have to be started the day before.

On the menu – see recipe links

Serve along with your favorite sides:
  • Flour tortillas
  • Shredded cheese
  • Diced tomatoes or salsa
  • Mashed avocado or guacamole
  • Chopped scallions
  • Sour cream
  • Sliced olives
  • Fresh cilantro
 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 27, 2011 in One pot cooking, Pork

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Southwest Food Fiesta – Cheap Eats

Leave a Reply

 
