RSS

Weight Loss Wars – Week 3 update

30 Oct

A food diary is key for me

Week 3 is in the bag. I would love to tell you that I lost more weight but my spastic scale gives me a different number every time I step on it. Of course, I could just keep stepping on it until it gives me a number I like but that feels a bit like cheating. So, I’m not focusing on the scale but rather on what I can actually control.

Food

One of my main goals with this contest was to clean up my eating habits. So I’ve been sticking to around 1500 calories per day which I record in a food diary. Thank God for technology since food trackers have come a long way. I use FitDay to log what I’m eating. I like that I can add in “custom foods.” Since I cook a lot, this is handy. I also use SparkPeople’s recipe calculator if my recipes don’t have the nutrition information included. This may seem extreme to some but my inner bean counter is a little OCD; she and the drill sergeant actually prefer full documentation. Bonus points for me that I can access it on my phone, tablet and various computers.

Exercise

Taming my inner drill sergeant and the “go big or go home” tapes that keep playing in my head is difficult. However, I also find success in the fact that I’ve worked out 4 to 5 times in each of the the past 3 weeks. I started slow with low weights and am gradually working my way up. Suffice it to say that I’m no spring chicken anymore. And, exercise hurts and its exhausting…at least in the beginning. You can save the drivel about how exercise gives you more energy. I think its a myth. I usually feel the need to nap immediately afterwards.

Regardless, exercise is key to weight loss. So, I’m exercising. Not particularly because I want to or because I know that I will feel a sense of accomplishment at having done it. No, I’m more motivated by the small sense of regret and large sense of guilt I will have for not working out. That and the fact that there’s money on the line in said Weight Loss War.

Summary

So there you have it. Sticking to 1500 calories and working out 4 to 5 days a week HAS to have results. Oh, and did I mention that I’ve given up wine?? Damn FitDay.com tells you exactly what percentage of calories you’re consuming in alcohol. I think that adjustment alone should be good for at least one dress size. Anyway, back on to the results…I didn’t get all soft and pudgy and gain 30 pounds overnight. Besides, if I stick to my plan, the results WILL follow and eventually I’ll step on someone else’s scale and swoon with giddiness.

Photo Credit: o5com on Flickr. CC Licensed. A much better photo than I could ever take,

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 30, 2011 in Weight Loss Wars

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
