RSS

Kat’s 2012 Goals for the Kitchen

02 Jan

Kat's score from Sprouts

Happy New Year!

Setting goals is a powerful thing. Eleven years ago I sat at my dining room table and thoughtfully planned out goals for 5 areas of my life. Amazingly (and somewhat unknowingly) within three years I had accomplished much of what was on that list including moving across the country, landing a better job, fostering my passion for wine and visiting Europe for the first time.

I had a category for food goals which included focusing on balanced eating, consuming four to five smaller meals a day and cooking often. This year is no different. I have goals for 2012 and I will share them with you. I would love you to comment below on your goals, too.

Creating balanced meal plans is first and foremost. I aim for roughly 1500 calories a day with a nice mix of different fruits, veggies, grains and animal protein. See my “garanimal” style menu planning post for more details on this. Having a steady supply of pre-cooked meals in my freezer means I won’t be eating microwave popcorn for dinner every night.

Plant herbs and vegetables. Inspired by La Mama’s very successful backyard garden, last summer I planted an herb garden in one of my raised beds. I loved being able to snip fresh herbs to season my food. This year I intend to replant the herb garden and add a small vegetable garden on the other side of my yard.

Cook with seasonal food. This was a big breakthrough for me in 2011. Instead of picking menu items and spending a fortune on the necessary ingredients, I started buying produce in season and creating my meal plans around produce that was abundant and cheap. Changing up my menu with seasonal foods provided a noticeable dent in my grocery bill.

Focus on unprocessed. This past October I participated in Andrew Wilder’s October Unprocessed challenge. In keeping with another one of my overriding life goals not to be too obsessive about things, I took the challenge at my own pace. So, while I didn’t follow the challenge to the letter I did focus on bringing more and more unprocessed food into my daily meal plans.

Share the love. I smile now as I recall some of the great meals from 2011. The best memories have one thing in common; sharing great food with great people. From my Table for Six dinner to the Southwest Food Fiesta to wine and cheese with awesome appetizers, I enjoy food more when I’m sharing the experience.

Enough about me. What about you? What are your goals for 2012 and is there a way I can help?? Please use the comments section to share your goals with me.

 

Tags:

3 responses to “Kat’s 2012 Goals for the Kitchen

  1. deliciousflorence

    January 2, 2012 at 9:34 am

    Happy New Year to you Kathryn!!! You cannot immagine how I agree with you when you say that making plans and setting goals makes you feel great! My goals for 2012? I’ve started a new blog in english, since the one in italian is going amazingly well, so the first goal is to make this sencond one as good as the first. Then I really want to turn my passion for cooking into a real job! When you have passion on something, and this something is your job, people can feel it, and you can share the love…

     
    • Kathryn

      January 2, 2012 at 9:41 am

      Two blogs is a big commitment. I visited Florence once and *loved it*. Perhaps I can live vicariously through you 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
