RSS

Healthy Oatmeal Raisin Muffins

12 Jan

I’ve never been a huge fan of raisins in food. I like them OK right out of the little boxes. I’m pretty sure I was scarred when I bit into what I thought was a chocolate chip cookie only to find out there were raisins in it instead. Oh the shock and disappointment! That incident sealed my prejudice over raisins for at least a decade or two. I’m about ready to get over myself, though. I’m ready to forgive raisins for their innocent charade only because I may have developed a teeny addiction to breakfast muffins. Said addiction started with the pumpkin quinoa muffins but gained traction with these oatmeal raisin muffins.

I love dense, chewy food and these muffins totally fit the bill. This recipe also helps me stay true to my kitchen/food goals. Since I baked these using whole wheat flour (which I recently purchased for the first time *ever*), these muffins are less processed, low-fat and healthy, too. Plus, they’re portable and can be eaten anywhere…even in the car on the way to work.

I can’t say I’m ready to declare my love for raisins but it’s not their fault they resemble chocolate chips, now is it?

Ingredients:

  • 1-1/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1-1/2 cups quick-cooking rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup skim milk
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup raisins

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 400 degrees. Line a 12-cup muffin tin with paper liners.
  2. In mixing bowl, combine all dry ingredients; mix well.
  3. Crack the egg into a two-cup measuring cup and beat the egg with a fork. Add the milk and beat again. Add the water and oil.
  4. Pour the wet ingredients in the dry ones and stir until loosely mixed. Add the raisins and stir to combine.
  5. Spoon the batter equally into prepared muffin cups.
  6. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.
  7. Immediately remove from tin. Cool completely and store in a gallon size plastic bag.
Yields 12 muffins
Nutritional value:

Calories 170.9  Total Fat 5.8 g  Cholesterol 17.7 mg  Sodium 271.4 mg  Total Carbohydrate 26.9 g  Protein 4.2 g

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 12, 2012 in Breakfast, Grains, Low fat, Scratch cooking

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Healthy Oatmeal Raisin Muffins

  1. Pat

    January 12, 2012 at 8:41 am

    Kathryn what would hapen if you used only the egg white?

     
  2. Pat

    January 12, 2012 at 9:07 am

    Also, what is the fiber content?

     
    • Kathryn

      January 14, 2012 at 12:13 pm

      Hi Aunt Pat – sorry for the delay; I was locked up at a trade show. It was good thing I had a bag of these muffins. I almost made these muffins with egg whites instead of a whole egg but chickened out (pun intended). I did a little research and it looks like you can easily sub egg white for eggs; you just need to use twice as much as what is called for in the recipe. Then I found this – http://www.thecookinginn.com/eggsub.html

      I checked out the original recipe and the Dietary Fiber per muffin is 2.7 g.

       
  3. jeanne

    January 12, 2012 at 3:36 pm

    I love raisins…and this looks like a great recipe. Thanks!

     
    • Kathryn

      January 14, 2012 at 12:08 pm

      Jeanne – they were pretty yummy. I dumped 12 of them in a gallon size bag and took them with me to a trade show. Its a handy breakfast when you’re trapped in a booth. Plus I had enough to share!

       
  4. Pat

    January 14, 2012 at 12:42 pm

    Thanks Kathryn….if anyone is doing Weight Watchers each muffin equals 5 points. Not bad for a healthy breakfast on the go! Add a skinny latte and youare all set.

     

Leave a Reply

 
